L-R President Neville Roper, Exec Director Les Hunter
Jackie Bramwell, Secretary Les Lane, Tournament Manager Jackie MacKay

NEW YEARS EVE BOWLS WAS A FUNDRAISER FOR UPWEY TECOMA BOWLS CLUB, WHO WERE SCAMMED OF $118,000 in 2023.    Thanks to your generosity we raised a total of $529.    As the board has kindly offered to double what we raised, we will be giving a total of $1058 to Upwey Tecoma BC.   A full breakdown will be on the noticeboard shortly.   A HUGE THANK YOU TO EVERYONE WHO ENTERED AND ALL THOSE WHO BOUGHT RAFFLES AND LUCKY NUMBERS

New Year’s Eve bowls was played in perfect weather.   With being restricted to 5 rinks on Green 3 due to renovations on G1 and 2, we still fitted in everyone who wanted a game, with 5 teams of triples and 5 teams of fours with a total of 35 players. 

Thanks to everyone who entered, and to the additional 7 who came along with their partners for dinner.       A big thank you to all the helpers, especially the ladies in the kitchen, Beryl Turner, Glennis Brown, Di Johnson, Peter Brown, Judy Baker and Marg Tull.   Not forgetting the barmen Rob Telling and Peter Laird.   The tables were particularly elegant thanks to Beryl, but unfortunately my photo didn’t come out, so if anyone has one, please send to Jackie and I’ll add it.    Thanks as always to my tournament committee – Helen Scott, Judy Baker, Trish Bosley, David Scott and Sue Thompson.     Apologies for anyone I’ve not mentioned.     

Of course we couldn’t do any tournaments without our valuable sponsors.    It was great to see Jarrod, Larissa, not forgetting the toddlers Charlie and Mia from local company JR AIRCONDITIONING, taking the time to present the prizes.    If you have any questions regarding air conditioning please don’t hesitate to ring them on 0480 545 882.   Thank you to MOOROOLBARK WOOL & HABERDASHERY for the raffle prizes. 

Overall winners – L-R Larissa (JR Aircon), Ian MacKay, Jarrod (JR Aircon), Dave Scott.   Missing from photo – Rex Tait
Runners Up – L-R  Sue Lambrou, John Baker, Joy Pears, Rick Bennett
Game 1 winners – L-R Dennis Botten, Marlyn Williams, Trish Bosley, Neil Johnson
Game 2 winners – L-R Marg Tull, Joe Belli, Sue Thompson

Lucky Number winners were – $50 each to Mike Plunkett, Rick Bennett, John Crompton.    $25 to TJ Renkema.     Mike Plunkett kindly donated his $50 to the Upwey Tecoma Fundraiser and a further $20 was donated by Mandy Carter